Restrict People from adding you in WhatsApp Groups

Learn how to restrict others from adding you in WhatsApp Group.

WhatsApp, the most popular messaging platform in the world, introduced a new feature, which will help you to restrict other people from adding you in to the WhatsApp Groups.

If you were added to a WhatsApp group, which you are not interested, you will get annoying messages and calls from unknown numbers.

If you have not enabled the latest WhatsApp privacy settings, anyone can add you to a Group without your permission and your private details like Mobile Number and Profile picture will be shared to other unknown people.

As a result unknown people can send you messages and calls. Your Phone memory and space will fill up with unwanted messages and images. Moreover your profile picture may be misused.

You have to manually exit from a Group if you don’t want to be a part of that group.

With the latest feature, you can control who can add you to a WhatsApp Group.

Let’s see How to restrict other People from adding you in a WhatsApp Groups without your permission.

Follow below Steps to restrict People from adding you to the WhatsApp Group:

Step 1: Open the WhatsApp and tap on the three dots on the top right corner and open the settings.

Step 2: Tap on ‘Accounts‘ menu and then Open ‘Privacy‘ and then tap on ‘Groups

Step 3: There  you can see Three options under ‘Who can add me to Groups‘.

Everyone, My contacts, My contacts except…

Step 4: Default option is ‘Everyone‘. With this option anyone can add you to any WhatsApp group, even they are not in your contact list.

So Deselect ‘Everyone‘ and Select from My contacts (Only people in your Phone contact can add you to a WhatsApp Group) or My contacts except (When you select this option, you can exclude contacts by selecting from the contact list. So they cannot add you to the WhatsApp group. All other contact list members can add you to the WhatsApp group.)

Step 5: Tap ‘Done’ in the bottom of the screen to Save the WhatsApp Group setting.

That’s it. Now on only your contact list members can add you to the WhatsApp group.

When a restricted person tries to add you to a WhatsApp group, they will get an option to Invite you privately to the Group, so you can can accept it if you are interested.

This private invitation will expire in the next three days.

Our privacy is every important and if we are not taking care of it then other people can steel your personal information and misuse it.

It will seriously affect our lives. So we should use every options available in the Social Media Websites and Messaging Platform to protect our privacy and personal information.

It is our responsibility to inform our relatives and friends about this WhatsApp group privacy settings.